What I’ve Been Reading ~ Pigs In Heaven

pigs in heavenI haven’t posted a review in a while, but I can assure you that there’s a reason.  I was reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Pigs in Heaven and scheming up a review for it.  It was only after I finished the book that I realized there was too much​ mature content​ in it for me to feature it on this blog.  Although I definitely wouldn’t recommend this book to middle-schoolers, it is ​a great book for those of you who know you can handle it.  Even if you have to wait until you get into high school – and you probably want to – I’m going to tell you a little bit about it.

Pigs in Heaven focuses on a young single mother, Taylor, and her adopted daughter, Turtle.  Turtle is a mostly quiet and very thoughtful young girl who was found abused and half-dead in Taylor’s car as a baby.  Not much is known about Turtle’s background other than the fact that she is Cherokee.  The public’s attention is turned to this duo when Turtle witnesses a man falling into the Hoover Dam. Turtle alerts a rescue team, ​and all of a sudden she is the little hero everyone knows about.  However, some of this attention is unwelcome, as lawyer Annawake Fourkiller (also a member of the Cherokee tribe) investigates Turtle’s possibly illegal adoption.  Turtle and Taylor are now living life on the lamb so they can stay together, and stay away from Annawake.  This depressing yet hopeful book is pretty great overall.  I especially enjoyed it when the book talked about Cherokee culture and the way that they value family more than anything.  It had a strong connection to Turtle and Taylor’s bond.

Interested in reading it?  Remember my warning first!  And hopefully I’ll post another review soon, assuming that schoolwork doesn’t kill me first :).

 

Leave a Reply

